Who Said I Couldn’t Cook?


So eating healthily isn’t easy, mostly because with the pace of life today, we don’t have, make, or take the time to cook a decent meal. Giving in to the prepared food aisle at the supermarket is all too tempting, but I’ve vowed to eat fresh. Have you ever read the labels on some of those prepared foods? There’s no way you’d add things like high-fructose corn syrup or monosodium glutamate to anything you were cooking in your kitchen. Hell, I don’t even know where you could buy those “ingredients.” When you cook at home, you add things like salt and pepper, and that’s where it should end. Get fresh food from store or farm. Prepare fresh food with ingredients you can pronounce. Eat fresh food and live better. Sounds simple, but it’s not. You really have to make the time for it.

Tonight I invented the BSTS. It’s sort of like a BLT, sans the bread and substituting spinach for lettuce. The extra S is for scallops. First, I prepared a simple Dijon mustard, EVOO, and balsamic dressing with just a pinch of salt, pepper, and garlic. Then the bacon started frying. I don’t recommend frying often, but with bacon, frying is essential. Besides, I needed the bacon grease to toss the scallops in. Bed the spinach. Drizzle some of the vinaigrette over said bed. Spoon on the scallops and top them with bacon crumbles. Since the grease was still hot, I threw in some asparagus for good measure. After garnishing with some fine tomato slices, I dropped a bourbon-marinated salmon steak on the plate, just to round things out.

To poorly paraphrase Arthur C. Clarke, “My God! It’s full of flavor!”

So what’s the outcome? My pre-dinner glucose was 98. My two-hour-post-dinner reading was 102 without any medication. And the best part? I’m full. Not stuffed, just happily full. Who said I can’t cook?

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Oh yum. I need to start revamping our diets here.

Leave a Reply

