As Promised: The Odd, Little Happy Blooms


I actually did get up off my butt today, long enough to weed the flower beds and snap a few pictures. Up first, the petunias beneath the dogwood tree. Note the weeper hose. This is my poor-man’s irrigation system. Sprinklers are so very wasteful due to evaporation. I’ve outfitted my beds with weeper hoses and tried to bury the hose as much as possible.
Petunias under the dogwood tree
Petunias under the dogwood tree
More petunias under the dogwood tree
More petunias under the dogwood tree
Here’s is the newly planted bed around the underground utility markers. Again, note the weeper hose. In the bottom picture, those are Stonecap (sedum) ground cover plants. I had to move them from the front to the back because I couldn’t find more on this trip to Lowe’s.
New flower bed is new
New flower bed is new
New flower bed is new, too.
New flower bed is new, too.
I had to buy a new hose caddy and hoses to set this up, but it will save me many hours of moving hoses around the yard. It will also save plenty of money in water bills because I can water these newbies with half what a sprinkler would use. Flowers got to drink, too.
New hose caddy is new
New hose caddy is new
Getting this bed around the utilities was a challenge. First, there are wires under it. The last thing I wanted to do was kill me, the power, and the cable. Second, there was a hideous cedar ground cover in the corner. I very carefully removed it. I then put in almost a cubic yard of fresh soil so the new plants had something to take root in without digging into those utility lines. I also realigned the rock border. Those are granite stones and none of them are light. I couldn’t find more of the same Stonecap (sedum) that I started to plant as a ground cover slash border. That’s Blue Star Creeper along the front. Hopefully, it will grow over the rocks and make a nice, flowing border. The remains of the cedar bush lie unceremoniously on the storm drain. A fitting fate for such an ugly plant.
Die cedar, die!
Die cedar, die!
Last, but not least, is the bed by the house. I wrote about making this a couple of years ago. I never did get that rain barrel. What happened to that begonia in the front? I don’t know. Sometimes, Mother Nature is a bitch.
Begonias and potted petunias
Begonias and potted petunias

So that’s it. Flower tour 2012. My only regret is seeing some beautiful, iridescent Impatiens at Lowe’s, but they like shade and my new bed gets lots of sun.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. ArianaCherry99 May 8, 2012 — 20:02

    Very pretty :) I love planting flowers…You have nice flower beds :)

  2. I just saw your post on facebook and ran over here to see your blog. I missed your writing. (Genie Walker aka geniespeaks.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

