A Special Kind of Crazy


I live my life honestly both on and off the internet. It not only makes life more simple, it’s the right thing to do. Because of this, I had forgotten something I learned long ago. That something? There is a special kind of crazy reserved just for the internet.

There are four different types of crazy on the internet:

  1. Trolls: They’re easy to spot. They’re easy to deal with, too: Ignore or destroy.
  2. Haters: Their foul language gives them away and necessitates their deletion.
  3. Drama Queens: They come in both genders and need to fabricate drama. They usually do the same in real life, too.
  4. Insane in the brain: Unfortunately, the truly mentally ill are on the internet, too.

Sometimes it’s hard to distinguish whether someone is 3 or 4. Often the really crazy people seem like ordinary drama queens until it’s too late. So why am I writing this? What jarred my memory and put me back on a cautious footing? A simple alert for my name.

The other day, I got an alert that my full name showed up on a blog I’d never heard of. I followed the link, read the post, and found some pretty nasty things. Obviously, the author of the blog knew of me, but I didn’t recognize their blog. I dropped a comment in along the lines of “Who are you and when did it piss in your Cheerios?” I should have researched the blog first.

In researching the blog and trying to figure out who the person was, I saw lots of comments on their recent posts were unmistakable from a well-know, combination #1/#4 from the AC forums. He was egging this person on. Like attracts like is so true on the internet. Crazy is like a magnet for other crazies. Just look at all the conspiracy sites out there.

It took me about 30 minutes of searching before I figured out who the blogger was. Turns out, the blog writer is an ex-Facebook friend, who unfriended me three months ago over an Associated Content article I wrote. I thought they were just a drama queen, but in hindsight, they’re a full-on #4.

Again, I’m poignantly reminded that not everyone on the internet is reasonable or even mentally stable. I’ll keep hoping for the best in everyone, but my guard will be up a little higher. Luckily, a great weekend intervened between last week’s manufactured internet drama and today’s perspective. In that weekend, I drove 640 round-trip miles and got to visit with my mom. That’s always a good thing that can blur even the craziest trolling hating drama queen.

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Great reminder! It can be easy to forget about things like that, especially when you generally look for the best in everyone.

  2. I admit I was lurking on the forum, I rarely post there because of all the mean spirited, caustic comments and bullies. I think I know who you are referring too but don’t know for sure. I don’t feel all warm and fuzzy there Iknow that!

  3. Yep, just ignore them. Think about the good trip to see your mom and forget about the bad stuff. Works wonders!

  4. I recently typed a nasty reply to another caustic poster. I deleted and walked away. It’s hard to tell the difference when I am reading what they are saying but I bet if I could hear them it would only take a nanosecond.

  5. You are usually just funny Randy, but there is some that are just mean and egging for a fight, superior in their own minds. ha!

  6. I tend to gravitate away from forums for this very reason. When I do occasionally venture in, it’s to get clarification on a guideline, and I always feel like I’m tip-toeing through a minefield of soap operas. I will participate on comment threads, just because I feel like they (usually) generate more productive dialog.

    First time visiting your blog. Kudos! I’ll be following.

    • Welcome to my crazy corner of the net, Lauren. I was looking at your blog today, too & am following you on Twitter. My blog is excessively eclectic. I’m sure I’ll post something that interest you eventually. Speaking of forums, you were getting some nice comments about your guest-blogging effort in the Associated Content forum.

Leave a Reply

