Dream a Little Dream of Me


My wife is a believer in dreams. I don’t mean she has lofty aspirations or inspirational goals. I’m talking about the fuzzy images her brain generates while she is asleep. Many the morning I’ve awakened to cold, peering eyes watching me from her side of the bed. Those are the mornings when I know, some how, some way, I’ve been up to no good in her dreams … and I’m about to hear about it.

A common scenario involves her dreaming that we are both back in high school, wherein my dreamy doppelganger is ignoring her and is putting the teenage moves on some other girl. On those mornings, my coffee is less tasty while I hear about what a cad I am … er … was in high school. Not the high school of 30 years ago, but the high school of 30 minutes ago when she was dreaming. It’s all very confusing for me.

I only know one thing. At some point during my shower that morning, the water will suddenly burst forth in a jet of steam when my wife exacts her revenge by flushing the toilet for no other reason than to scald me … er … my dream self … er … but my flesh self still has first-degree burns. It’s all very confusing for me.

My sly male brain concocted a plan. I would tell her I had a dream. Her strong belief in the validity of dreams would compel her to follow up on my dream. It was a perfect plan, until I put it into action.

I set it up one morning with, “G’morning, Dear Heart. I love you. Wow! I had a dream last night.” Step one. Interest piqued.

“What did you dream?” Her reply fell right into my trap.

“It was a wild sex dream.” Bait dangled. Of course, she must know if she was part of my dream.

“Was I in it?” Bait taken. Now to snuggle up close and seal the deal.

“Of course sweetheart. Who else would be in my sex dreams but you?” Get ready to call work and tell them I’ll be late…

“That counts then. We’re good for another week.” Damn you, twisting female logic! At least I could take my shower as cold as necessary after my failed plan.

Today’s lesson: reach for your dreams with an open hand in case you have to pimp slap a brother on the way.

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. That made me smile! I am a woman and often have those kinds of dreams as well…I think it is a female insecurity thing or something! however, when my husband dangles that kind of bait…I make sure and take it! LOL.

  2. (chuckle) Smart woman, your wife is!

  3. lol, pretty clever on her part – though I must admit that I’d probably let my husband fool me with that one.

  4. This is one of your best Randy! Thanks for the morning giggle.

  5. LOL!:) You could tell her that you were Hugh Heffner in your “dream”. My bet is that you’ll have Mrs.B’s undivided attention as to what happened in your dream. No doubt a romantic dinner between the two of you will follow.:)

  6. That’s funny because it’s so universal! Oh, well, nice try anyway!

Leave a Reply

