Head Down, Busy Busy, Busy, and FU IRS


I love my job. I really do. Solving puzzles is fun and that’s what I get paid to do. “I deal with the customers so the engineers don’t have to.” Wait! I’m the engineer, too. Oh, crap.

I’ve been so tied up earning a living, I haven’t had time to keep the blog up very well. April Fools Day was a blast. I really enjoyed writing and reading all the digs (Note: that’s digs not diggs. Even as a techno-geek, I find digg boring.) the blog-o-sphere created for the annual event.

Once the infernal taxes are filed, I’ll start planning next year’s joke. Taxes are a necessary suckness, made easier by guys like me. We take the tax code and turn it into a computer program in your web browser and in less than an hour, your taxes are done. Thank you computer nerds. I’d like to put us all out of a job with something like the Fair Tax. I’d end up paying more, but the stress reduction would be worth it.

If you’re curious, my effective tax rate was 9.72%, but I got a huge deduction for sending socks, Q-Tips, and lip-balm to some soldiers in Iraq. Kind of sad I had to do that, but I’m happy for the line item.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. What a title! Huge sigh of relief to have the taxes filed in time (just barely, but still done) and ready to start heading into next year. Meanwhile, on to the next project, building the Eiffel Tower in our living room. Nearly 4000 Lego blocks, the vast majority gray. Ah, well.

  2. Like jcorn, I love the title.

    Yeah, sometimes life can just sweep you away from the fun stuff like that. Love your deduction and don’t feel too bad. That’s what it’s there for. :)

  3. It’s really sad when making a living and life in general has to get in the way of our fun on the internet. LOL

  4. lol….just came over from AC and had to leave a comment…..love the blog!

Leave a Reply

