Pissing and Moaning About Phamacists, Again


One of my first articles submitted to Associated Content was a rant about the treatment my wife and I receive at pharmacies (Pharmacist’s Opinions Now Out Weigh Doctor’s Orders, July 2006). As far as the writing goes, I could have done a better job getting my point across. As far as the topic goes, it persist to this day and is getting worse.

My wife called our local Walgreens three days ago to get a refill of her Xanax prescription. She was told that it wouldn’t be refillable until Saturday, 1/26. That was cool. No problem. It’s always good to call ahead and have things waiting.

She called Saturday morning to make sure it was ready. The pharmacist on duty told her it couldn’t be refilled until Sunday, 1/27. Grrrrr! Who died and made you God, Ms. Pharmacist? Why would your people tell us the 26th when you are going to make a personal decision to not fill it until the 27th?

That is my main complaint with the chain pharmacies…no consistent policies. Everything is left up to the whim of the pharmacist on duty. Getting a refill is like playing Russian Roulette. I’ve even had one pharmacist refuse to fill a written prescription at 7AM because he knew he was going off duty at 8AM. The shift change made all the difference and the 8 o’clock guy had no problem counting out the pills.

Knowing the system means you can game the system, though. My wife simply made a phone call to the next Walgreens down the road and they had no problem filling the script on Saturday.

I’m not bashing Walgreens as a whole. Just the inconsistent policies. I regularly go to a particular Walgreens every month for a reoccurring prescription and John, the PharmD, is the nicest guy in the world. The people at the Walgreens where I picked up the Xanax today were very polite, friendly, and quick. But the Walgreens at 7813 Highway 72 W Madison, AL apparently only hires cold, hard bitches who have their own policies about what scripts are valid and when they will fill them.

This isn’t the first time we’ve been treated with complete and utter disdain by the staff at that particular store. So don’t give me any bullshit about “pharmacist are professionals who are trained to look out for your well-being.” This crew at this particular Walgreens is just a customer dis-service nightmare. I vow before the internet gods, I will not set foot in that store again. I’ll drive the extra 6 miles or go across the street to Publix.

Personally, my view on drugs is very Libertarian. Make it all legal and available over the counter. Let Darwin deal with the rest. If you’re so ill informed and stupid to take a fist full of sleeping aids and wake up dead, then the world is free of 23 chromosomes that won’t dumb down the herd. Sure it would put the pharmacist out of a job, but they’re always hiring check-out clerks at Walmart.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I was a Walgreens pharmacy customer for years while I was taking cheap drugs and insurance was paying for them. They’re very convenient if you do a lot of traveling, and if your insurance pays, who cares how much it costs?

    When I had to start buying my own rather expensive drugs a few months ago, though, I did a little research and wound up at Costco. The people are all very nice, and the $50 or so per month that I save over what I’d be paying at Walgreens is nice to have.

    You do pretty much have to do your pharmacy shopping during the daytime, but then they have an online pharmacy that I’m told is even cheaper (although I haven’t tried it).

  2. One chain, not Walgreens, shorted us two times in a row when it came to their “double counted” meds. Apparently, the people or machines who double counted those meds weren’t up to snuff that day.

    Anyway, when we actually had the “gall” to count the pills in front of the pharmacist instead of walking outside the store and counting them, we were STILL accused of miscounting. We stood our ground and even though they were snippy about it, they had to recount every pill of the day. They’d shorted us 25 pills! We weren’t the only customers affected that day.

    Don’t even get me started about the time a hospital released me with IV needles in my arm, under their carefully applied bandages. They checked the box that said, “checked IV area, everything fine”. No one did any checking and I had to remove the needles and tubes myself and then save them in a box as proof so we could get credit on THAT bill.

Leave a Reply

