Neglect


Neglect is an ugly word.  The connotations bring images of abandon children and starving puppies to mind.

Hi, My name is Barefoot and I’m neglectful.  I’ve neglected the blog for a few days.  I’ve been distracted with work.  You know work.  It’s that darn four-letter word that pays the mortgage and pesky grocery bill.  I have to focus on it every now and again.

Right now, I’m creating thousands of tiny SQL statements.  Oh, the joy!  Problems solving with programming doesn’t get any better than this.

Then there was the whole Associated Content snafu yesterday.  Seems they miscalculated the cumulative count of hits for the last few weeks.  When caught and corrected, people were understandably bummed that their huge increases weren’t what they were all cracked up to be.  Tempest in a teapot compared to the price of gasoline.

Speaking of gasoline, when did they stop mixing it with ethanol?  My car ran just fine on that and it was so much cheaper.  I hear Brazil makes ethanol out of sugar cane is is 100% energy independent.  Brazil did it.  Why can’t the U.S.?

We have tons and tons of viable material.  We have the technology to build dual-fuel-source cars.  I’m going to have to buy a scooter.  My minivan is just sucking the life out of me.

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Brazil is a whole lot better at making ethanol than we are. Besides, they have the whole Amazon rainforest to cut down and plant with sugar cane. The way we do it (with corn), the only things it’s good for are agricultural subsidies for Iowa corn farmers like Chuck Grassley, and the price of stock in Archer Daniels Midland.

    Nope, corn ain’t the answer. Good thing they restarted that idle unit at Browns Ferry.

  2. Thank God for the Brown’s Ferry restart. If I can’t get me some cheap nuclear power, I don’t know where I’ll be in a glowing half-life. We just can’t win. Renewable. Consumable. We all end up in the hopper. Dang!

  3. I’ve been neglectful of AC lately and man! I have a lot of catching up to do. The snafu is a bit overwhelming but from what I can tell, AC didn’t take money away from anyone, it was a mistake, caught before they distributed the funds. Suppose it’s almost like getting the wrong change back from a cashier – there are those who will give the change back to the cashier because it’s the right thing to do and there are those who’ll keep the change thinking they’re owed it because the cashier made a mistake.

    Have a great weekend! :)

  4. I’m very neglectful. Yep. Miss me?

  5. I hear you’ve been through the ringer Jude. Things are improving? I hope.

Leave a Reply

