The 15th Commandment


“And as to traffic and the idiocy of thine fellow road occupants, thou shalt not rant; for this is the 15th commandment. I am good. Thus sayeth the Lord.” Isaya 9:12-14.

Because of this, I shall not rant on the drivers that I saw today. I will simply say that when they go, I pray that they don’t take me with them.

It was foggy this morning. Fog is not something we get often around these parts. I wouldn’t blame a motorist or two for not turning on their headlights. Only thing is, it was every fourth car! There were the two that had the presence of mind to turn on their parking lights. That brilliant yellow beam that scared the hell out of me at the last second is much appreciated.

I’m sorry that your daddy didn’t raise you right. He wasn’t around to show you the importance of not dying because you have no common sense. I learned the rules of the road, including the fog-low-beam-headlight rule before I even knew what a driver’s license was. I guess your daddy didn’t love you enough. Now I have to run off in the shoulder and be honked at because of it.

Well at least the drive home was quite. The congestion was expected. The radio played some forgotten song at a comfortable level. Mine works fine, jackass. I don’t need to hear yours! All is clear; all is well, until the road widened.

Ever drive the scary three-lane road? The middle lane is used for “left turn only,” but we all use it to get a jump out of the side street and merge. I’ve got no problem with that. I do it too. Only I drive slowly, turn on my signal and merge when safe.

They lady in the big white van hadn’t read the third-lane rule. She paced me, MPH for MPH (KPH for any Canadians reading this) until we reached the speed limit. Ignoring the 8-car-length gap behind me, she proceeded to pass me, after she drove 3/4 mile in the “left-turn-only lane” and wedge herself in between me and the braking car in front. Thanks for the signal as you hit your brakes.

The best part of the day? The fog was quite lovely when I took the dog out and the evening quite pleasant after I got the mail. Everything in between blew chunks.

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Sounds like some of the idiots that I’ve encountered lately. We’ve had fog a few times lately with the weather going all wonky & people lose their minds in it.

  2. Obat kuat murah March 23, 2014 — 03:41

    This paragraph is genuinely a pleasant one it helps new internet viewers,
    who are wishing for blogging.

  3. Sewa Mobil Bekasi March 30, 2014 — 02:22

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your
    post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers
    to write content to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind
    producing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write related to here.
    Again, awesome web log!

  4. I rarely drop responses, but after looking at through a great deal of remarks on this page The 15th Commandment « The
    Odd, Little Happy. I actually do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be only me or does it appear like some of the responses appear like they are written by brain dead folks?
    :-P And, if you are posting at other social sites, I’d like to follow you.
    Would you post a list of the complete urls of your social
    networking sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  5. Hey There. I discovered your blog using msn. That is a really well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your helpful
    info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

Leave a Reply

