Our Turn


I guess every family gets a turn and now it’s time for us. I didn’t get all the details and medical mumbo-jumbo, but I found out today that my only sibling has stage 2 breast cancer. The surgeon says they got the complete mass, but want her back the day after Christmas for some more surgery. Then she’ll start radiation treatments.

I guess every family goes through something like this. I know all the stages of grief. I know all the power of prayer. I know how this is going to change my family. In the spirit of “hands to work; heart to God,” I got busy today.

I picked my daughter up and we picked up her Christmas gift from my mom. A very nice dining room table and chairs. Some assembly was required which was nothing compared to hauling it up the stairs. It is really pretty.

Now it’s off to the boss’ house for a Christmas party. Somehow I’m not really in the mood, but will make an appearance. Tomorrow, will bring my daughter’s college graduation. Life is full of hills and valleys. I just didn’t expect to have so many in one weekend.

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Rhonda Oneslager December 17, 2006 — 01:30

    Randy,

    I’m so sorry.

    Your sister, you and your family will be in my thoughts and prayers during this trying time.

    Rhonda

  2. Thank you so much Rhonda. The prognosis is good, but the road will be long.

  3. She is in my prayers Randy. Stay strong. A strong brother is the best thing to have at times like this. She’s blessed to have you.

    Sharon

  4. One step at a time will get the long road done. And, hopefully cancer-free. Yes, a strong brother will be a huge help.

    Congrats! on daughter’s college graduation by the way.

  5. Thank you Sharon & LV. Yes, we’ll be distracted a little today with the graduation, but sis will be there in the back of our minds. Thank y’all so much for your thoughts and prayers.

  6. Christtine Bude December 17, 2006 — 18:32

    Randy,
    Sharon is right. when I had cancer my brother was a rock. He was there and showed he cared and that was very important.

    I am working on a article about some of my cancer experience, that I am not submitting to AC. If you would like to see it, I will forward to to you. Maybe there will be some encouragement there. Anyway, let me know about that.

    Best wishes to you.

  7. Sorry to hear, Randy. My prayers are with your family.

  8. Yes. Please do Christine. Let me know where I can find it.

    Thank you Sugah. We’ll take every prayer we can get.

Leave a Reply

